Clearance-sale Affection

I might ask. Once. At the most twice. But I refuse to beg or demand. Either you give me your attention because showering me with thoughtfulness brings you pleasure, or it doesn’t. So you don’t. I will not clamor and wave my hands to be seen. You’ll not catch me creating an uproar for a word from you. I choose to not cheapen myself that way. Why? Because affection that has to be wrestled from the giver is clearance-sale affection—devalued, cold and stale. And in many ways that makes it worse than nothing at all.

37 thoughts on “Clearance-sale Affection

  1. Empowering. Bartering for love and affection usually leads to being ripped off. What they have to offer isn’t worth the price you’ll pay. Well said. Thank you.

Talk to me. Please.

