Why Being a Top Sex Blogger Is Better Than Peanut Butter on Pancakes

So there I was. At lunch. Scrolling through my phone for the brief 15 minutes I was allowing myself to inhale a deli sandwich. And I see the notification that the fabulous Rory at Between My Sheets has posted her annual Top Sex Bloggers List.

Have you ever had one of those moments where you don’t really want to admit to yourself that you want something? Like… No, I don’t really want that fancy car. The maintenance just isn’t worth it. Or, no, I don’t want to be invited to that party. Finding something to wear will just be too much work. Or, no, I don’t want to slather some peanut butter on my pancakes. That might make them too rich to eat. This was one of those times. I really wanted to be on the list, I just tried not to admit it. And, as I reminded myself while the page loaded, I don’t write nearly as much about sex as I used to. I’m not even sure I am a Sex Blogger. Sexy Blogger? With a heavy emphasis on the Y? Ok… I’ll take that one. But this is the SEX Blogger List.

I dabbed the low fat mayo off the corner of my mouth with a too-thin napkin. Ahhh… there is was. The List. Her top ten is spot on. I read eight of them regularly and now will add the missing two to my reading docket. You can’t fault Rory’s taste.

Then I got down to the rest-in-alphabetical-not-numerical order part. My eyes dart to the Cs. Sigh. Nope. Creative Noodling isn’t on there. My bottom lip poked out a little. Oh well. Maybe I’m not posting enough, I thought. Maybe I’m not relevant. Maybe I don’t have enough drama going on in my life for people to stay interested…

Then I saw it. Marian Green of Creative Noodling. I was in the M section!!! I smiled down at my phone, a little embarrassed about how pleased this had made me. Ok. More than pleased. Downright thrilled. So thank you so much to those of you who nominated me. It is validation that just maybe I’m doing a little bit of good here. So I’ll keep on going. And I can say without any doubt that being voted a Top Sex Blogger of 2014 is WAY better that peanut butter on pancakes. It really does make them too rich for my taste.

45 thoughts on “Why Being a Top Sex Blogger Is Better Than Peanut Butter on Pancakes

  1. Peanut butter on pancakes??? Well, I guess I’m not the only one going for weird combos, mine was always bananas and yogurt.

    Happy holidays and Congrats!

  2. That’s how A and I felt, when we looked at the C’s and didn’t find us. We didn’t realize we wanted on that list so badly until we weren’t there. And then hours later, as my self-esteem dived (I’m a bit emotional right now anyhow), A text me that we were also under “M” for my name. It’s amazing how validated I felt. But now I have a whole new sympathy who work hard, who don’t make the list. And yet, I felt feel that Rori is amazing, that her list is wonderful for the community, as that is how I found so many wonderful blogs to read and bloggers to fall in love with. We need that list, I feel, and yet not everyone can be included.
    Congrats, I found you through another blogger and I am grateful that I have. Now more will find you thanks to Rori’s tireless work.

Talk to me. Please.

