Unbuttoning and Unbuckling – The Australian: Chapter 7

The kiss deepened slowly, as if we both were savoring the moment, trying to lengthen each second. The feel, the scent, the touch of him, it was as if he had been designed especially for me. I knew his touch already, his taste. I remembered him. Something deep inside me responded at a level I was unfamiliar with, a level I was unaware even existed. The beautiful hotel surroundings ceased to exist. All that mattered in the universe was us.

When Ian lifted his head, I smiled up at him, and without reservation knew I would give him everything within me. No holding back. No games. I didn’t know what this was, but I knew it was a gift, one not to be squandered.

He placed a hand along the side of my face, caressing it gently. I slid my hands up his chest to the tie I had straightened hours earlier and began to loosen it. The silk fabric yielded easily to my nimble fingers and with a long tug I freed it from his collar. Ian stood like a statue, immobile, watching me begin his undressing. Slowly I unbuttoned his French blue shirt, starting at the neck and working down, pulling it free from his trousers and then peeling it off his broad shoulders, exposing the clean, white undershirt beneath.

But it had been too long sense our lips had touched.

Ian came alive, pulling me to him, devouring my lips like one parched. I was fluid under his touch, curving my body to fit against his, marveling… so this is what it is supposed to feel like. This is what I’ve been waiting for, searching for… His fingers ran up and down my back, sending shocks of electricity through me. My hands reached for his belt. The kissing stopped.

“What are you doing?” he asked.

I frowned. Surely the task I had begun was obvious enough.

“I’m taking off your pants,” I said simply.

“But I didn’t think…” Ian’s voice trailed off.

“You didn’t think what?” I questioned, thoroughly confused, “During dinner I asked you to stay the night with me. What did you think I meant?”

“I wasn’t sure. You hadn’t given me any clear indication that you wanted me to kiss you, when I’ve been longing to all day, so I thought you meant, well…”

“What did you think we were going to do up here? Cuddle?” I asked, incredulous.

“Well, yeah,” he said sheepishly.

“First of all,” I said slowly, so he was sure to not miss a single word, “I’ve wanted to kiss you from the moment I saw you. And secondly, we’re going to do a lot more than cuddle.”

When my fingers reached for his belt a second time, he didn’t protest.

24 thoughts on “Unbuttoning and Unbuckling – The Australian: Chapter 7

  1. Pingback: Homing | Creative Noodling

  2. Oh Marian! I’ve just finished reading from start to finish…your writing is amazing, I really loved this story & to think, this is what started it all….you’ve said it’s been painful, yet most artists truly do suffer for their art, it seems you darling woman, are no different….

  3. Please would you direct me to the post that tells how it ended? As I read through the chapters, it became clear your readers knew what had happened, and I would love to know too. I somehow think it will be another long while before you are ready to write more, such was the impact this man and your fated meeting had on you. I concur with everyone, captivating writing my dear.

    • Thank you. There isn’t as post, per se. Just things in comments of posts that explain. The short version is, he went home. And we aren’t together. I am working on the rest of the story now so you don’t have long to wait.

  4. Pingback: Taken | Creative Noodling

Talk to me. Please.

